Thread: Something for professional(airline) pilots

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Consumer or Non-Eyecare field

Question Something for professional(airline) pilots

My first post-so be gentle!

I recently purchased my first pair of Transitions. They also have AR, and Progressive, a combination I had on previous specs.
    As I've recently retired as an Airline Pilot, I could be "adventurous" & try out the photochromatic style lense. These lenses are not satisfactory(or legal in some instances, in aviation), so I'm very interested in their performance overall. As has been mentioned in some other "posts", Transitions are not the answer in all circumstances, especially where a greater shading is required. I also note that, polarized lenses have been suggested as an alternative. They are a big no, no, in aviation because of their distortion factor, especially where the plexy glass sceens are polarized. It could also be a factor in vehicle driving.
    I previously used G15 clip ons, so as to avoid the necessity to carry prescription sunnies.
    It would be good if the transitions darkened to that level, not something I've yet experienced.
    Indeed, if some optical scientist could come up with a solution to the problems I have had over recent years, there could be an opening/market.

Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor
    Polarized lenses are great in all environments except the flight deck. Progressives are OK in all environments except the flight deck. Photochromics are great in all environments except the flight deck.

Just ordered a brand spanking new Mooney Acclaim (going nut waiting – 3 more weeks) and there ain’t no way polarized, progressive or photochromics will work. Will wear my great big arsed trifocals with glass G-15 flip ups.

Enjoy the retirement. How sweet it is.

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Who's a lucky boy!!! Enjoy, & safe flying.