Thread: aberration in polycarb hi-index lenses

OptiBoard Novice
    Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)

aberration in polycarb hi-index lenses

Hi!

I'm trying on a new pair of polycarb Quantum transition lenses (-6.75/-6.50; -0.75 cyl). I've been wearing eyeglasses for more than 25 years so I know it takes from several hours to a day (for me at least) to get used to the "feel" of new lenses. However, I also know from experience that my discomfort when trying on new lenses, is limited to things appearing bright and sharp and the floor looking as if it's a bit farther down.

My new polycarb lenses have a different feel to it. First, it's like looking through a window. I can "see" the edges. Second, fine prints are blurry. I find this odd since I expected (based on previous experience) that with new lenses that have a higher Rx (higher by -0.5 and -0.25), I'd be getting dizzy from seeing things very sharply, not blurry.