Thread: Advice on high myopic prescription

OptiBoard Novice

Advice on high myopic prescription

I would like to get your expert advice on choosing a lens material. I’ve been using high index glass for quite a few years (Essilor Stigmal 18) and I’m quite happy with it. But this was in Europe, and I recently moved to the US. I need to get new glasses, but all the optical stores I visited keep pushing me towards high index plastic 1.7. I’m afraid that this won’t look as good as my current glasses (I’m very sensitive to thickness and that "milk bottle look", that I’ve been able to avoid up so far). What’s your opinion?

I wear plastic frames eyesize 48 and my prescription is:

OD -11.00 -1.50 x 20

OS -11.75 -2.25 x 150

Thanks a lot for your help.

OptiBoard Professional
    Occupation
    Other Eyecare-Related Field
    Quote Originally Posted by Olander
    I would like to get your expert advice on choosing a lens material. I’ve been using high index glass for quite a few years (Essilor Stigmal 18) and I’m quite happy with it. But this was in Europe, and I recently moved to the US. I need to get new glasses, but all the optical stores I visited keep pushing me towards high index plastic 1.7. I’m afraid that this won’t look as good as my current glasses (I’m very sensitive to thickness and that "milk bottle look", that I’ve been able to avoid up so far). What’s your opinion?

OD -11.00 -1.50 x 20

OS -11.75 -2.25 x 150

dear amigo,
    the best advice i can give you is to try to acquire the same lens material that you are wearing now.
    nothing made here in the usa is going to match the quality of optics of your high index glass lenses, unless you find the same material here.
    have someone special order your lenses as "uncuts" from europe, even if they cost more by the time you have them edged here in the usa.
    i don't care what any lab person or sales rep says,
    high index plastic (even Aspheric) will never match the quality of a High Index "Glass" lens.