Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ophthalmic Techs and Opticians

Bad address email on file Alteaon's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Ophthalmic Techs and Opticians

Hello,

I am a certified optician who has been working in retail for the past 6 years. I noticed that there is an opening for an ophthalmic tech in my area. This interested me because I want to learn more, specifically in the more medical areas of my profession.

I ask all those who are opticians and all those who are ophthalmic techs what is your opinion? Do you preffer one over the other as far as a job goes? I feel that as an ophthalmic tech, I'd learn a lot, but yet, I do not want to forsake what I do now, as I love being an optician. It's that I want to expand what I know, not replace it, if that makes any sense.

Would being an optician aid me in the tech job? I've emailed plenty of people, but I have yet to hear from an actual tech...

Thanks much!

Alt

Bad address email on file Lynne's Avatar

Wave

Quote Originally Posted by Alteaon
    Hello,

I am a certified optician who has been working in retail for the past 6 years. I noticed that there is an opening for an ophthalmic tech in my area. This interested me because I want to learn more, specifically in the more medical areas of my profession.

I ask all those who are opticians and all those who are ophthalmic techs what is your opinion? Do you preffer one over the other as far as a job goes? I feel that as an ophthalmic tech, I'd learn a lot, but yet, I do not want to forsake what I do now, as I love being an optician. It's that I want to expand what I know, not replace it, if that makes any sense.

Would being an optician aid me in the tech job? I've emailed plenty of people, but I have yet to hear from an actual tech...

Thanks much!

Alt