Thread: Media player won't play on a web page

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician

Media player won't play on a web page

Media player won't play video that is on a web page. I have the latest player, the only way i can play something is to get its properties and go to the web site directly then the media player opens and plays properly. Any thoughts?

sub specie aeternitatis Pete Hanlin's Avatar
    Occupation
    Lens Manufacturer
    If you have Windows Media Player Version 10 and it still won't play, that's a toughie. It probably has to do with a codec issue (codecs are used to render video and audio files). I'm not an expert or anything, but if you type in codecs and do a search, you may be able to find an install pac that may resolve.

Caveat, however, installing too many codecs can screw up the ones you have (this is why I'm glad Essilor has an IT department- they're good at stuff like this).

Good luck,
    Pete

PS- It could also have something to do with the security settings on your browswer (or, if you have a pop-up blocker, that could be it as well).
    Pete Hanlin, ABOM
    Vice President Professional Services
    Essilor of America

http://linkedin.com/in/pete-hanlin-72a3a74

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    in the options - there are streaming options. to get to the options menu - turn the skin off (Ctrl-1), and follow the options tag

ensure that the download codec's box is ticked

Occupation
    Optical Retail
    What browser, what OS, and what version of both? If it's IE, it's probably some ActiveX problem--either security settings or it's just flat broken. It's not the media player, since you can play the video independently. If you're running a still-supported version of Windows (2000 or XP), Windows Update may or may not fix it, but it's a start.