Thread: First Time Buying Eyeglasses - Please Help!

Bad address email on file
    Occupation
    Consumer or Non-Eyecare field

First Time Buying Eyeglasses - Please Help!

Hi there,

This is my first time with eyeglasses and I am in desperate need of expertise here. I have a fairly light prescription and got Halston frames at Bay Optical. Frames - $107 (originally $199), Lenses - $50 (originally $75), Teflon Coating - $120 (originally $159.99), Warranty - $20.

When I took them home, I saw that the frame was damaged and the edging on the lenses were quite bad. The saleswoman told me it was the prescription and had to be that way. Several lab techs told me later that was just a bad edging job. When I came back, the saleswoman said she'd order new lenses and that it was the worst edging job she'd seen - without even looking at it. By then, it was too late as my trust in them had been lost and I ended up returning them.

I now realize that the lenses price usually comes with the coating included. Other places quoted me around $160-$180 for the Nikon Ice, Crizal Alize, etc.

What is the better brand? Nikon ICE or the Essilor Crizal Alize? A couple people said Nikon ICE is the best and that Crizal Alize is more comparable to the Teflon. Some people tell me Crizal Alize is the best out there. So which is it?

Also, which is the better - Crizal Alize or Crizal D'Alize? I know the D'Alize is a bit more, but is it indeed better in some way?

The frames I am considering buying this time around are Aspex MDX 3090, picture attached. (The second style, MdX Magnetic Eyewear model S3090 from Manhattan Design Studio, is designed for modern, urban women. It features semi-rimless floating lenses with a slight wrap effect and is also made of Monel. Its laminated acetate temples are enhanced with an inside stripe)