Thread: Medicare billing questions

OptiBoard Apprentice
    Occupation
    Optometrist

Medicare billing questions

"I'm new to Medicare billing so bear with me, please. Is it allowable for me to collect the 20% allowable and refraction fee (92015) up front. In completing my HCFA forms, I don't know how to fill in the 'amount paid' by patient area at the bottom of the form.

A friend had told me to always put in -0- even if the patient had already paid their allowable or for any non-covered services up front. If any figure was entered into that box, Medicare would automatically send the check to the patient. I really want to do things the correct way. Can someone give me some advice? Also, my carrier (Arkansas Blue Cross/Blue Shield) is located down in Baton
    Rouge.

I've been unable to reach them since Hurricane Katrina struck. Anyone know
    how long I have before I can still file these claims. Is there a time limit?"

Master OptiBoarder Joann Raytar's Avatar
    Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    http://www.lamedicare.com/provider/v...articleid=2173

Be assured, all electronic correspondence, including Electronic Funds Transfers (EFT’s) will function as usual, however please touch base with your perspective financial institution regarding their operational status.

Occupation
    Dispensing Optician
    Disclaimer: this is my understanding, and not necessarily Medicare policy:
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. B
    Is it allowable for me to collect the 20% allowable
    You can for product, but not for service.
    and refraction fee (92015) up front.
    Yes, as there is no allowable for the refraction fee.
    In completing my HCFA forms, I don't know how to fill in the 'amount paid' by patient area at the bottom of the form.
    If it is for service, it should be zero - you haven't taken the 20% for an allowable item, and you shouldn't list the refraction fee, as there is no allowable.