Thread: IOL Questions

OptiBoard Novice

IOL Questions

Hello, I'm new to the OptiBoard Forum so my apologies if this topic has already been addressed. I had IOLs put in both eyes about 4 years ago. I was extremely near-sighted (-12). The lenses have been great but I've noticed a couple of things. First of all, the amount of glare at night seems to be getting worse. This is especially noticeable when I'm driving into oncoming traffic with their headlights on. Someone suggested a glare reducing lens that I can wear at night. Don't know what that is or whether or not the glare can be reduced in some other manner. Secondly, my vision sharpness seems to be deteriorating somewhat. It's not bad enough to cause me to wear corrective glasses during the day, but I'm using "driving glasses" at night, especially if it is very dark and raining. Is a reduction in vision correction normal over time? I've spoken to my optometrist and he doesn't think anything is wrong.

Manuf. Lens Surface Treatments
    Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor
    Probably not your glasses......................probably a matter of age.......at least in my own case.

I used to love driving at night....I saw the glare but it did not bother me. Now it does.................with or without glasses. Your optometrist might be right.

Occupation
    Ophthalmologist
    Sounds like a build up on the capsule surrounding the implant. We find it is quite common and you need to have the film removed by laser. Speak to an ophthalmologist.

Lewy

YAG laser capsulotomy

Approximately 20% of patients will develop haze of a membrane behind the intraocular lens (IOL) implant following cataract surgery, which results in diminished vision. The vision may be blurred, hazy, or is associated with significant glare and loss of visual acuity. This condition, known as posterior capsule opacity, is sometimes referred to as “secondary cataract.” Cataracts, however, never recur following cataract surgery.