Thread: AO and B&L - Price Fixing

Occupation
    Other Optical Manufacturer or Vendor

AO and B&L - Price Fixing

In an earlier post to the Essilor gobbling up Johnson & Johnson Vision thread
    http://www.optiboard.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12955

Darryl Meister said:And, for those who are not already aware of this, the spectacle lens industry was founded principally by two corporations (American Optical and Bausch & Lomb). Those corporations "dominated" the industry for the better part of a century before the FTC stepped in. As a college student, I was working part time for American Optical in the years just prior to the investigation. I was on the Aero Commander flight crew with Art Clemens. We flew many an AO executive and family member to various locations to meet with people from B&L. They also met with people from Shuron-Continental, Titmus and most of the other “players” of that time.

I was just a young whipper-snapper and always had to stay with the aircraft to supervise refueling so was not really sure what was going on during these late night trips. However, these trips were made to a given company just before their new price list came out. Hmmmm . . . I guess that was what piqued the Justice Departments interest.

Could it have been that AO was telling their competition how much to charge for their product? Did they use leverage through their patent holdings and licensing to enforce their price fixing and production rates? No one knows for sure because all of this was sealed by the Justice Department in return for AO’s agreement to sign the consent decree. And AO ain’t saying. Supposedly the actual decree was consigned to the AO museum in Southbridge contingent that it never be made public. Last information is that the museum has been removed to the University of Rochester.