Thread: Help me describe OPTIBOARD!

Occupation
    Optometrist

Help me describe OPTIBOARD!

Hello all,

I would like to solicit your assistance if you would.

Over the last few years, it seems that I was stuck in a rut in regards to my day to day routine. There are too few qualified professionals in our field in our area, and even fewer who can intelligently discuss the various aspects, whether they are legislative, theoretical, etc. When I started in this industry 17 years ago as a wide eyed lad, and a few years later when I studied the subject in college, the optical frontier seemed to be a beckoning challenge. That noble vision quickly evaporated when I realized many of the old principles and ideas I had been taught had been replaced the 'McPoly' commoditization of our industry.

In the few weeks since I've stumbled upon this site, I have been happily reminded that there are in fact others in this field who are passionately dedicated to the preservation and the advancement of their craft/profession/art.

Opticianry is languishing in a state of divided apathy in CT. I would not be suprised to see our license be watered down or even eliminated in the upcoming years.

In our state association we have a newsletter that we publish quarterly. I was wondering if anyone interested could post a few threads to help me describe Optiboard.com to some of the folks in our association in our upcoming newsletter. I think that if a few of the folks who called themselves opticians in this state were to become involved in the dialogues here, they may in fact remember why they decided to become opticians in the first place. Maybe just visiting will open up some opticians eyes to the challenges opticianry faces, and how we as a group need to be more involved and proactive both on a state and national level.

Any help would be appreciated

AA

Occupation
    Optical Wholesale Lab (other positions)
    Fun, Exciting, Educational

Bad address email on file